My Memoir/How Joining A Hockey Team Messed With The Real Me

  In language arts, we got an assignment to write a memoir and this is mine.

    Pass pass pass and pass the thing you need to do in school and hockey. In the summer of 2018 in August I made the competitive hockey team. When I made the team I was happy but also nervous to see who my teammates were. I didn’t know what to expect. It was my first time trying out for a competitive hockey team and I made it. At first, I didn’t know why or how I made it. All I knew was that we practice at least three times a week and play at least two games a week. That was a lot more than usual for me because when I played house league I played two times a week. I also was a bit scared because even though I was only in grade 4 I still wanted to make sure my grades were high as usual. 

 

     The first semester of school was hard because I was trying to get into a rhythm. When I saw my first term report card my grades weren’t as good as usual. My parents told me it’s ok because I was changing rhythms, but that next we have to work hard and find as much time as we can to do the work smarter and harder so I said ok. Then we started the next term and I remembered all the tournaments and playoffs we’re coming up, so I knew it was going to be harder to bring my grades up. But I knew that if I put all my effort into studying and hockey then I’d hope that my grades would increase but they got worse. My parents started getting mad. I felt the urge to just tell them how hard and challenging it was trying to compete at a high level and trying to keep my grades up because grade 4 was the grade where you got at least two pages of homework from each subject. Plus going to a private school I had another language on top of that. 

 

     Now I ran into another problem during the playoffs. My great-grandpa died and that was hard for me because I was very close with him and he did a lot for my family. Now I had to go to the funeral and I missed one of my playoff games and found out my team lost the game I missed. So now I was mad, sad, and discouraged. Later that day we were in Montreal and we went back to my great grandpa‘s apartment for the shiva. We were eating there but I didn’t like the food because it tasted disgusting to me. But my great grandpa‘s apartment had this smell and whenever I smelt this smell, it reminded me of him so I started crying. Everyone was confused and thought I was just crying because I was sad no one knew it was because of the smell until my mom brought me to a room and asked me and I told her his apartment smells like him. We started laughing and crying and then she gave me a bag of chips. When we got home the next morning I had a game we were losing 2-0 in the series so we needed to win. Before the game, on the ride with my dad to the arena, we were talking about him. My dad knows that I don’t like expressing my feelings and when sad stuff happens I don’t like crying but when we were talking about him I started crying and at the same time you kind of feel good to let the crying get out of me. We ended up winning that game and I scored the winning goal. My point here is that even if you don’t wanna express your feelings sometimes it’s good to and it makes you feel better. We ended up losing 4 to 1 in the series.

 

     Now my hockey season was over and the third term was about to start. So I knew I should only focus on school and my friends. Now that my hockey season was over I had more time to hang out with my friends and to use my time more wisely now that the hockey season is over. Every Tuesday after I was done with the hockey season I went to Jaxon’s house. See I liked going to Jaxon‘s house because when I went there I got to have fun and I got to get my mind off of anything I didn’t want my mind to be on.

 

Conclusion: The lesson I learned was if you think you’re having a perfect life or if you want to have a perfect life you can keep trying and trying but there’s always gonna be that one thing that interrupts it.

 

 

 I chose this topic because it really messed up my life in 2018. I feel that writing about an event that you didn’t like helps you get out of your brain.

This experience changed me as a person because I knew that if something like this happened to me again I would know how to handle my emotions.

My advice for the readers reading this is that if you’re accomplishing something big and you think it’s going to change, think again and think if it’s really what you want.

 

 

5 Thoughts.

  1. Nice job Miguel!
    Loved the memoir, and loved your hook!
    Would you play competitive hockey again? Are you going to stay in house-league?

  2. Miggy, your memoir was so meaningful, encouraging, and it made me put myself in your shoes. When you started talking about the obstacles in your life it was very encouraging and inspiring to hear someone really talk about the reality of those obstacles and how it’s not as easy as it sounds to always be strong or brave. Sometimes you’ve gotta let it all out!
    Do you think that when you were playing competitive hockey you were also just always tired and didn’t have the energy to do school work, not only not having enough time?
    – Joey Sh

  3. Dear Miggy,
    I absolutely loved reading your memoir. Your introductory sentence especially hooked my attention.
    Thank you so much for being so open and honest in this memoir. The emotions you shared, from the challenges to balancing different commitments, to losing a loved one, and also not always feeling comfortable sharing those emotions, are things every person experiences at some point. I would imagine that balancing sports and school is something that every athlete struggles with at some point. Do you still play competitive hockey? Have you found some tricks that help keep everything balanced? I wonder if there are any professional athletes out there who have written or spoken about this topic. I would imagine discipline and organization are two really important skills for this….procrastination just won’t work!

    Great work!
    Mrs. Thompson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar